6th ICAN Network Congress 2016

The 6th ICAN Congress will be held from 25th to 28th September 2016 at the Indaba Hotel, Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa.  Closing date for abstract submission is the 30th May 2016.

Click here for more information

Why be a member of ICAN?

Over the years, ICAN has grown and become the voice of Infection Prevention and Control (IPC) in Africa with an over 450 strong membership.

Find out more

Find us on Facebook!

Like our page of Facebook to keep up to date with our latest activities!

Click here!


Registered Charity. Number: 2012/079606/08

This website has been sponsored by an unconditional grant from Copper Development Association Africa


There are currently 450 fully paid up members of ICAN from 31 countries. As we grow there are more advantages of being a member.

Join Now!

Current Outbreaks

Here you will find information about current outbreaks of infection across Africa

Click Here


ICAN is involved in several exciting and important joint projects with organisations such as the WHO, CDC, International Society of Infectious Disease (ISID) and OASIS.

View Projects

Calendar of Events

Click below to view our calendar events for the year. Please submit any events of relevant interest to ICAN members for us to add to the calender.

View Calendar


There is an active Education programme in PIC – this working group is headed up by Shaheen Mehtar.

View Initiatives

Meet the Board

The Board has a quarterly newsletter giving updates on projects and initiatives that have taken place over the past quarter.

Read More

ICAN Member Countries

AlgeriaAngolaBeninBotswanaBurkina FasoBurundiCameroonCape VerdeCentral African RepublicChadComorosDemocratic Republic of the CongoDjiboutiEgyptEquatorial GuineaEritreaEthiopiaGabonGambiaGhanaGuineaGuinea-BissauIvory CoastKenyaLesothoLiberiaLibyaMadagascarMalawiMaliMauritaniaMauritiusMoroccoMozambiqueNamibiaNigeriaRepublic of the CongoRwandaSão Tomé and PríncipeSenegalSeychellesSierra LeoneSomaliaSouth AfricaSouth SudanSudanSwazilandTanzaniaTogoTunisiaUgandaWestern SaharaZambiaZimbabwe